On Being Reflective

     Children learn to be reflective when they can see for themselves that this is a valuable way to be. Even if it will not directly make them more money, win friends, and influence people, they will learn to find more peace within themselves and will develop more wisdom about the way the world works.
    I had been dealing with burnout so I took a break from the classroom for a while but I spent some of that time homeschooling my children (which I guess wasn’t really a break at all. ;)) I thought maybe it was time for a career change  but as I started looking to go back for my Master’s I remembered what had drawn me to teaching in the beginning. It wasn’t for fame, money, or status but to make a difference in the lives of children. We have to “empower them with the skills to overcome their challenges so they can be the best they can be.”  I have realized that “we have a choice…become frustrated and complain about what should be or deal with reality.” I understand that things won’t always be how we think they should be but as long as I keep a positive attitude and focus on what is truly important, I will be able to make a difference in the lives of those around me.

     Personal reflection is a way of life, not just an interesting intellectual exercise. When you begin to acquire and value the habits of personal reflection, your professional life will be enriched. (Kottler, Zehm, Kottler, 2005). In order to be more effective I must write down my daily reflections. I knew that being reflective was important in both my personal and professional life but I didn’t realize how important writing it down was so that I can go back and see how I have changed. I understand now more than ever how important it is to “accept them where they are and not where they should be.”

     My goal is to gain confidence in who I am and what I do. I believe that if I don’t have confidence then I won’t be able to teach my students to be confident. Children learn by example and I want to teach them not only academically but also socially.

How can I gain this confidence I need? How can I let my guard down and trust those around me to help me be the best I can be? Maybe my confidence will grow by reaching out to my students and colleagues and making deposits into their accounts, as was talked about in video I watched for one of my classes.

I have not been one to sit around with others and discuss how bad students are or how bad my job is. I stay away from conversations like that. There have been times when these types of conversations went on though and I did nothing to stop them because I was to shy to speak up. I want to share with others how much our beliefs can affect us and our students. I will encourage others to keep a positive attitude and to become lifelong learners so that our students will learn to do the same. The challenges we face in education will not go away but you can change the response to the challenge. The choice is ours.

     I have been energized by the communication with other teachers outside my district. Communicating with others has always helped me to stay focused on what I have been called to do. Children and young people have always been drawn to me and would share with me things that they wouldn’t tell anyone else. My family and I moved quite a few times in the last few years and because of my shyness I began to not reach out and not be so open with people.  In the last few weeks I have gotten back that desire to open up and allow myself to be that kind of person again. I feel energized and ready to share.

     Being a teacher is a big job and one that should not be taken lightly. I am feeling a bit overwhelmed with the knowledge of knowing that it is up to me to make a difference in the lives of the students I have contact with. Although it is overwhelming I feel challenged to keep positive beliefs no matter the circumstances. I want to be the best I can be so that I can teach my students to be the best they can be.

My desire to see my students grow and succeed is what will keep me going. To teach in a manner that respects and cares for the souls of our students is essential if we are to provide the necessary conditions where learning can most deeply and intimately begin. It should be clear that becoming more reflective as a teacher depends very much on how you define yourself as a person.

Leave a comment